Thursday, February 21, 2013

Pune Warriors logo.jpg
Pune Warriors India
Captain:Yuvraj Singh
Coach:Praveen Amre
Bowling coach:Allan Donald
City:Pune, Maharashtra
Colours:Turquoise blue, silver
Owner:Sahara India Pariwar
Home ground:Subrata Roy Sahara Stadium
(Capacity: 55,000)
IPL wins:0
CLT20 wins:0

Pune Warriors India is a franchise cricket team that plays in the Indian Premier League (IPL) representing the city of Pune, Maharashtra. The team was one of two new franchises added to the IPL for the 2011 season, alongside the Kochi Tuskers Kerala. On 21 March 2010, Sahara Adventure Sports Limited made the winning bid of $370 million (approximately Rs 1900 crore) for the Pune franchise. The bid is the highest bid by any company in the history of IPL.
Yuvraj Singh is the captain of the team while former India cricketer Praveen Amre serves as the head coach. Former South African pacer Allan Donald is the bowling coach of the team. The team's home ground is the newly-constructed Subrata Roy Sahara Stadium in Pune.

2013 Season
Pune Warriors India retained Steve Smith,Tamim Iqbal,Marlon Samuels And Luke Wright for for the 2013 season but released Michael Clarke,Callum Ferguson and Jesse Ryder. Later in the auction which was held during February 3, 2013,Pune Warriors bought Michael Clarke for $400,000,Abhishek Nayar for $675,000,Ajanta Mendis for $725,000 and Kane Richardson for $700,000.They have also signed domestic players like Thirumalasetti Suman,Ishwar Pandey,Harpreet Singh,Parvez Rasool and Udit Birla for the 2013 season.Pune Warriors India also saw the return of Yuvraj Singh in their team who missed 2012 season. On February 12 2013, the franchise made a swap with the Delhi Daredevils, trading veteran fast bowler Ashish Nehra for former New Zealand skipper Ross Taylor.
Pune Warriors will begin their Campaign in the 2013 IPL when they face of Sunrisers Hyderabad,the newly joined team in IPL On the 5th of April.

Current squad

Players with international caps are listed in bold.

No.NameNatBirth dateBatting StyleBowling StyleNotes
01Tirumalasetti SumanIndia15 December 1983(age 29)Right-handedRight-arm off break
03Ross TaylorNew Zealand8 March 1984 (age 28)Right-handedRight-arm off breakOverseas
06Harpreet SinghIndia11 August 1991 (age 21)Left-handedRight-arm medium
07Michael ClarkeAustralia2 April 1981 (age 31)Right-handedSlow left arm orthodoxOverseas
29Tamim IqbalBangladesh20 March 1989 (age 23)Left-handedOverseas
30Anustup MajumdarIndia30 April 1984 (age 28)Right-handedRight-arm leg break
35Mithun ManhasIndia12 October 1979 (age 33)Right-handedRight-arm off break
69Manish PandeyIndia10 September 1989(age 23)Right-handedRight-arm off break
730Marlon SamuelsJamaica5 February 1981 (age 32)Right-handedRight-arm off breakOverseas
Dheeraj JadhavIndia24 August 1983 (age 29)Left-handedRight-arm off break
Udit BirlaIndia17 November 1989(age 23)Right-handedRight-arm medium
10Luke WrightEngland7 March 1985 (age 27)Right-handedRight-arm medium-fastOverseas
12Yuvraj SinghIndia12 December 1981(age 31)Left-handedSlow left arm orthodoxCaptain
20Mitchell MarshAustralia20 October 1991 (age 21)Right-handedRight-arm mediumOverseas
49Steve SmithAustralia2 June 1989 (age 23)Right-handedRight-arm leg breakOverseas
99Angelo MathewsSri Lanka2 June 1987 (age 25)Right-handedRight-arm medium-fastOverseas
Raiphi GomezIndia16 October 1985 (age 27)Right-handedRight-arm medium
Abhishek NayarIndia8 October 1983 (age 29)Left-handedRight-arm medium
Parvez RasoolIndia13 February 1989 (age 24)Right-handedRight-arm off break
17Robin UthappaIndia11 November 1985(age 27)Right-handedRight-arm medium
Mahesh RawatIndia25 October 1985 (age 27)Right-handed
Eklavya DwivediIndia22 July 1988 (age 24)Right-handed
02Ashok DindaIndia25 March 1984 (age 28)Right-handedRight-arm fast-medium
04Rahul SharmaIndia30 November 1986(age 26)Right-handedRight-arm leg break
05Bhuvneshwar KumarIndia5 December 1990 (age 22)Right-handedRight-arm medium-fast
08Alfonso ThomasSouth Africa9 February 1977 (age 36)Right-handedRight-arm fast-mediumOverseas
33Ali MurtazaIndia1 January 1990 (age 23)Left-handedSlow left arm orthodox
94Wayne ParnellSouth Africa30 July 1989 (age 23)Left-handedLeft-arm fast-mediumOverseas
Shrikant WaghIndia9 October 1988 (age 24)Left-handedLeft-arm medium-fast
Krishnakant UpadhyayIndia18 June 1986 (age 26)Right-handedRight-arm medium-fast
Ishwar PandeyIndia15 August 1989 (age 23)Right-handedRight-arm medium-fast
Kane RichardsonAustralia12 February 1991 (age 22)Right-handedRight-arm fastOverseas
20Ajantha MendisSri Lanka11 March 1985 (age 27)Right-handedRight-arm off break/leg breakOverseas

2013 season Match Schedule:

No.DateOpponentVenueResultScorecard link
1April 5, 2013Sunrisers HyderabadHyderabad
2April 7, 2013Kings XI PunjabPune
3April 11, 2013Rajasthan RoyalsPune
4April 13, 2013Mumbai IndiansMumbai
5April 15, 2013Chennai Super KingsChennai
6April 17, 2013Sunrisers HyderabadPune
7April 21, 2013Kings XI PunjabMohali
8April 23, 2013Royal Challengers BangaloreBengaluru
9May 28, 2013Delhi DaredevilsNew Delhi
10April 30, 2013Chennai Super KingsPune
11May 2, 2013Royal Challengers BangalorePune
12May 5, 2013Rajasthan RoyalsJaipur
13May 9, 2013Kolkata Knight RidersPune
14May 11, 2013Mumbai IndiansPune
15May 14, 2013Kolkata Knight RidersRanchi
16May 18, 2013Delhi DaredevilsPune

Franchise history

During the 2010 franchise auction for two new Indian Premier League teams, Subrata Roy of Sahara Group purchased the Pune IPL team. Pune and Kochi joined the current eight teams from the fourth season of IPL to be held in 2011. On March 22, 2010 Sahara group bought Pune IPL team for INR1,702 crore.The Videocon Group lost the bid for the Pune IPL Team.

Club logo and colours
The team logo has a spear wielding warrior riding a stallion,with the am's name next to it. The team colour is Turquoise blue and Silver [2012 Season].They kept their name Sahara Pune Warriors but later changed it to Pune Warriors India . TVS Motors is the principal sponsor for the Pune Warriors India who hteave also signed Adidas as their official apparel sponsor for the upcoming season ofIPL 2011.The other sponsors include Royal Challenge, Pepsi, Playup(mobile gaming partner), Amity University, Finolex, Valvoline.

For the 5th season of IPL Pune Warriors India were assigned to play their home matches in the newly constructed MCA Stadium also known as Pune International Cricket Centre|MCA Stadium. The name was later changed to Subroto Roy Cricket Stadium after the name of Saharashree Subroto Roy.For the 4th season of IPL Pune Warriors India played their home matches at the DY Patil Stadium ground located at Mumbai as the MCA Stadium was still under Construction.